Home

Didier Ottaviani © Lucyhofer

Didier Ottaviani is Associate Professor at the Ecole Normale Supérieure of Lyon. He is a former student of the Ecole Normale Supérieure of Fontenay-Saint-Cloud, he is a french “Agrégé” and Doctor of philosophy. He is a member of the CNRS research laboratory “Institute of History of Representations and Ideas in Modernities” (IHRIM, UMR 5317).

His doctoral thesis was on Dante’s philosophy, studying the metaphysical status of light and the evolutions of the Poet’s thought on this question between the Convivio and the Divine Comedy. It was published (in french) under the title The Philosophy of Light at Dante. From Convivio to Divine Comedy (Paris, Honoré Champion, 2004, 480p, reissue: Paris, Classics Garnier, 2016, 477p.)

He devoted his “Habilitation to directing research” into the study of the evolution of political science and its displacement from the moral field to that of the natural sciences, especially in the thought of Marsilius of Padua. This work was published (in french) under the title The Birth of Political Science. Around Marsile de Padoue (Paris, Classics Garnier, 2018, 397p.)

His research focuses on the thought of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, and more particularly on the existing relations between politics and medicine, as well as on the influence exercised by Arab philosophers on Latin thought. He is particularly interested in the influence of biological and medical thought on philosophy, both in Italian authors of the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, in Montaigne and Michel Foucault.

Through Dante or Montaigne, he is also interested in the question of writing philosophy in a poetic or literary form, as well as in the practice of philosophical writing.

Research Themes : Medieval and Renaissance Philosophy; Aristotelianism and Neoplatonism; Political philosophy; Philosophy and medicine; Philosophy and literature.

Accueil

Didier Ottaviani © Lucyhofer

Didier Ottaviani est Maître de conférences Habilité à diriger des recherches à l’École Normale Supérieure de Lyon. Ancien élève de l’École Normale Supérieure de Fontenay-Saint-Cloud, il est agrégé et docteur en philosophie. Il est membre du laboratoire de recherche CNRS « Institut d’Histoire des Représentations et des Idées dans les Modernités » (IHRIM, UMR 5317).

Sa thèse de doctorat portait sur la philosophie de Dante, étudiant le statut métaphysique de la lumière et les évolutions de la pensée du Poète sur cette question entre le Convivio et la Divine comédie. Elle a été publiée sous le titre La philosophie de la lumière chez Dante. Du Convivio à la Divine comédie (Paris, Honoré Champion, 2004, 480p. ; réédition : Paris, Classiques Garnier, 2016, 477p.)

Il a consacré son Habilitation à diriger des recherches à l’étude de l’évolution de la science politique et son déplacement du champ moral à celui des sciences de la nature, notamment dans la pensée de Marsile de Padoue. Ce travail a été publié sous le titre La naissance de la science politique. Autour de Marsile de Padoue (Paris, Classiques Garnier, 2018, 397p.)

Ses recherches portent sur la pensée du moyen âge et de la renaissance, et plus particulièrement sur les rapports existants entre politique et médecine, ainsi que sur l’influence exercée par les philosophes arabes sur la pensée latine. Il s’intéresse plus particulièrement à l’influence de la pensée biologique et médicale sur la philosophie, à la fois chez les auteurs italiens des XIIIe et XIVe siècles, chez Montaigne et chez Michel Foucault. 

Au travers de Dante ou encore de Montaigne, il s’intéresse aussi à la question de l’écriture de la philosophie sous une forme poétique ou littéraire, ainsi qu’à la pratique de l’écriture philosophique.

Thèmes de recherche : Philosophie médiévale et renaissante ; Aristotélisme et néoplatonisme ; Philosophie politique ; Philosophie et médecine ; Philosophie et littérature.